Bus Challenge No 118!!

Victoria Bridge, Bath

Victoria Bridge… was built in 1836 across the River Avon. The bridge has been recognised as a Grade II listed building. The bridge is an important example of a suspension bridge which initially carried horses and carts but later carried cyclists and pedestrians.

In October 2010 the bridge was closed to users, because of concerns about the safety of the beams and cables… Work on restoring the bridge started in 2014... The bridge was taken apart and rebuilt with additional steel reinforcing, and repainted dark green. It officially reopened on 15 January 2015” Wikipedia

No blue skies today, just a biting cold wind that made it feel far colder than the 3°C temperature. So just a short bus journey to the western suburbs of Bath where I met up with my Bus Challenge friend for a walk along the footpath beside the River Avon, towards the centre of the city. I don’t know why I’ve never walked along here before. I discovered new corners of Bath, both Georgian and contemporary, and was surprised at the variety of wildlife we saw, including seven Cormorants and a beautiful electric blue Kingfisher. To defrost after our chilly walk, we found a cosy pub for a warming hot chocolate. There’s a lot more of this riverside path for me to explore, but I think I’ll wait until a warmer day!

Total bus journey time = 28 mins

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.