The Lily Pond, Between the Snows

We got snow last week, but then there were some milder days in which much of the snow melted. But the weather was about to change again: a major winter snowstorm was expected for Wednesday night into Thursday morning.

When it came, the storm would disrupt travel all up and down the eastern seaboard and turn our world into a beautiful winter fairyland (you have those pictures to look forward to tomorrow).

But between the snows, when it still felt a bit like spring, I visited the Arboretum's lily pond. The ice had melted and it was open for reflections business, hooray!

The lily pond is a special favorite place for me, but I don't get there quite as often in winter time. In the winter, I think of the lily pond in slumber, beneath the snows. But even when it sleeps, waiting for true spring, its beauty lives on inside my heart.

The song to accompany this image is the love theme from one of my favorite 80s movies, About Last Night. Here is Bob Seger, with Living Inside My Heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.