The second half of life..

By twigs

The Monument

A full-on day at school with House Sports day.  Overall a pretty good day which most kids seemed to really enjoy.  It had begun as a very cool day and I was thankful we didn't start at the pool!  By the end it was a lot warmer, but not the scorching days we often get.  Great!  No sunburn to deal with!

As quickly as I could manage at the end of the days events I shot home, put final things into van then headed over to Golden Bay where I'm hoping to get some nice sunrise pics tomorrow.  I was thrown a bit when I heard there had been a massive whale stranding at Farewell Spit this morning......over 400 stranded but less than a hundred are still alive.  It reminded me of the stranding I helped out at 5 years ago.  I considered changing my plans and attending the rescue tomorrow if volunteers are still needed but local sources say they have had almost too many volunteers today.  A lot will depend on the tide tonight - it's hoped that the 11.30pm high tide will refloat them and they'll be able to make their way safely back out into the bay. I think I'll do the sunrise thing then see how things are on Farewell Spit mid-morning.

So.......here I am at one of my favourite locations for freedom camping.  north of Pakawau at a spot right on the waterfront.  If you recognise this 'monument' you'll know exactly where I am!  Blissfully peaceful.  Such a very special place.  Early night tonight ready for very early start tomorrow morning :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.