Dawn Chorus and Climbing Crabs

Thailand 2017, Day 20
Backblipped from Koh Kradan on Friday 10th because of lack of WiFi on Koh Ngai
C was up early and out at just gone 6 o'clock in order to catch the sun-rise. I was going to go back to sleep but decided that I really should get up too, so I was up and out in a few minutes.  I'm so pleased that I made the effort - the colours in the sky were just beautiful, and there was hardly a soul about. The cicadas burst into song while I was out, and the sound was almost deafening at times. 
Later on in the morning, I spotted some movement on a nearby tree, and on closer inspection I realised that the tree was home to numerous tree-climbing crabs. They were, however, rather camera-shy and I spent about half an hour chasing around from one side of the tree to the other, trying to get a half-decent photo.
We had several snorkel trips out over the nearby reef today, and it is absolutely teeming with life. C took some quite good shots with his (Christmas present from me) waterproof camera, but it's far more difficult to steady oneself when snorkelling rather than diving, when the weights can help. He got shots of a moray eel, various reef fish, and some lovely coral. Have a look at the extras in this link to C's blips (also his sunrise is better than mine because it was about 20 minutes earlier - but don't tell him!)
I forgot to say yesterday that two of my extras were virtually the same view but one was in daylight and the other was taken at night. The other extra was the spray as seen from the window in the ferry. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.