Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Do-si-do

I decided to go with a minimalistic take on the ubiquitous Dark-eyed junco, a member of the sparrow family.  These little birds are abundant from fall until spring, sometimes numbering over 30 when there is a heavy snow cover such as today's.  I find that if I crouch very still outside, they will eventually approach within 10 feet of me.  So, there I was, bundled to the ears and with my nifty photo-gloves on, crouched down in a manner that my 61-year old knees don't much like, waiting.  

Before long, I had a nice crowd of juncos, tree sparrows (also minimalistic), and white-throated sparrows, all pretty much at eye level.  Lots of very pleasurable clicks of the shutter, then an ungainly clamoring to my feet, then inside to warm up.  I've done some pretty extensive edits to this, both in LR and PS. Most of what I did was remove the cracked corn and seeds that littered the crisp white snow - then some slider adjustments to brighten things up.  

I stopped over to see MIL around 10 and we enjoyed some laughs before Hubs and I had to go into a meeting with the Social Services Director to sign reams of paperwork.  As we left, MIL was just being served lunch in the dining room with her roommate.  She seems to be doing well, all things considered.  The staff at the Retirement home are very pleased with how well she is adjusting, but did ask that we not take her out for a day trip for at least a few more weeks so as not to disrupt her routine.  People with dementia/Alzheimer's tend to have a very difficult time adjusting to new surroundings and routines, so consistency is key right now.  We continue to be so relieved to have her close by and in a place where we know she is being very well cared for.  

Thanks for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.