Moon Setting

I woke with no time to spare. The sky was clear and I just had time to grab my camera. My choice of vantage points was limited by the fact that I was in my nightie. Up the road a bit would have been better, but there was a lot of traffic even at that hour. I pushed my way through the hedge in the dark and took a series of shots, handheld, in the final minutes. When the moon is looming large close to the mountains it moves quickly, like the minute hand on a large clock.

This sequence was shot over 2 minutes, 24 seconds. In case you are wondering, the moon sets from right to left here. The peak is close to the Porters Skifield in the Craigieburn Ranges. Best seen large (click the button next to the star and heart buttons).

My moonset collection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.