Crepe Myrtle #1

   Today I took Myrtle #1 to the workshop....    Pictured is the result.....   the tree required chasing back, i.e. The primary branches had grown out too long without any reduction in the diameter.  I was then shown how to look for a viable bud and cut the too long branch off just before the bud.    It was a severe trimming, but what I don't do now, I will do in a year or 3 and have to get to this point then.
   The remainder of the branches were wired out to help enhance the gentle rounding of the top, like a dome.  Each bud will develop and run out a new secondary branch.  
   It was then pointed out to me that there is no real apex to the tree, i.e. a top which comes up and naturally flows outward , like putting a top hat on and everything flows out and downward from there.  
   The structure of the tree is the same, only collected, for training and growing purposes.  This would have been two springs ago if I hadn't had so many health and mobility issues.  The tree is strong and healthy and has benefited from the time to grow.  The lost growing seasons can be dealt with, and in the end this will be one "really sweet tree" as my bonsai master would say!!!
   Tomorrow, I will do Crepe Myrtle #2.....     can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.