Dow Crag and Old Man

It was kicking up an icy breeze as we headed up to the start of today's orienteering event on Bleathwaite, near Coniston, but the views were fine and the showers held off.

The start was on an exposed fellside so the start team thankfully weren't sticking to times and we were able to queue for just a few minutes before we were off!  Crikey it was chilly but good to be running.  Between two controls I paused to watch the sun's rays pick out a distant fell between grey clouds and was tempted to get out the small camera from my bumbag, but it was just too cold to stand still and probably too shaky too!

After several controls I dropped down into the woodland where it was warmer but I went in to brain freeze and made errors which dropped me some placings.  However, the course was enjoyable and it was good to be back in the Lake District.  I met Tony back at download and we quickly got changed and warm, then enjoyed bacon sandwiches in a Coniston Cafe before driving home.  There was a touch of sunshine as we climbed up out of Torver so we pulled over and I climbed up the fell a ways to take this blip looking back towards Old Man and Dow Crag.

Note to self:  Get sensor cleaned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.