Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

High Steppin'

A quick trigger finger this morning helped me grab this White-crowned sparrow in mid-step.  They like to hop and forage on the ground, picking up the seed the other birds knock off of the feeder and suet blocks.  It's difficult to get a decent shot when they are doing that because the stones aren't the best backdrop.  I waited for this immature fella to climb onto the rocks where I was able to get a few good shots.  Some were better but I liked his feet in this one. (Oh, like the grass growing in my yard?  Not supposed to be there!)

I took mom out for lunch today to celebrate Valentine's Day early.  At the restaurant, I treated her to a wonderful, giant chocolate-covered strawberry.  I also gave her a deluxe box of chocolate pecan caramels, her favorite. 

After lunch, we stopped at the library so she could pick up a couple of books.  I was going to stay and visit for a while when we got back to her place, but she headed to her backroom, put on headphones to listen to Italian music and began coloring.  (Honestly, I think the best thing I've gotten her in the past 6 months has been colored pencils and adult coloring books).  I felt like chopped liver :-) so I asked her if it was okay to leave.  Yep!  She was happy.  I was glad.  It had been a mentally challenging weekend for us both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.