my funny valentine

Every Valentine's Day, D surprises me with a strange and original array of messages. This year was no exception...I know he loves me, and he says so nearly every day, so he can be forgiven for not winning the competition for the most romantic card.


He is getting good at winning competitions, though! In November he won a Ventile jacket from Hilltrek Outdoor Clothing  and today we heard that he has won €500 worth of Carhartt clothing from Brix Workwear. To win the competition, D had to write a piece about his "best sandwich". Paul, who writes the Brix blog, said that this was the "most inspirational sandwich story ever!" So I'm sharing it with you:"


"It's a sandwich, Paul, but not as you know it...


A good while ago I was on an expedition and I tried (and failed) to climb a moderately big Himalayan mountain; strange but true. 


Back at Base camp I was afflicted with a cruel form of Delhi Belly. This had me prostrate for days, getting by on sips of salty and sugary water. 


Mercifully, time is a great healer and one fine day my appetite returned with a vengeance. It was fair to say I was half starved by then.  And when I had worked out what time of day it was the breakfast had finished.


There was one chapati. And a Marmite jar left for empty. But with some vigorous attention with a teaspoon I extracted enough Marmite to spread the on to the chapati. With a quick foldover it then became my favourite sandwich. 


So, it's not about what you have, it's about what you feel about what you have."



And I think that last line sums it up for me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.