The kumkum sellers

So today I was driven in style to the Indira Ghandi airport in Delhi by the family's driver.  Spice jet travellers are supposed to be smaller than me for my knees touched the seat in front.  I was in the middle seat between two very large men who had to splay their legs to sit - so mine had to be primly closed to enable them to be accommodated. The one on my right by the window was very nervous and any bump and he was flailing his arms to hold on to the seat in front - he plugged his ears with his fingers for take off and landing and slept for most of the journey with his head forward on the seat back of the man in front. The enormous man on my left spilled over the arm rest into me and his sleep pattern meant everytime  he moved he dug his elbow into me.  I was very patient! From the airport I took a government prepaid taxi to my hotel.  The road to begin with was very good with 3 lanes each way and a feeder road either side.  But it didn;t stop people going the wrong way and a bus had a real impasse with a disabled driver who was winding the wheel chain of his sort of bath chair with his hands against the traffic. For a long way the metal railing dividing the carriageway sported the dhobi wallahs' washing which flapped in the slipstream of cars and dried in the sun.  It is about 30' and rather humid. We drove at speed over the lengthy flyovers and the competitive driver crouched over the steering wheel like a jockey, manoeuvring the aged classic Ambassador car into spaces only fit for a motorbike - the car had plenty of examples of misadventure showing in its bodywork - we veered to right and left and I had to jam my feet into the floor on many occasion as he liked to speed up to the stationary car ahead to prevent anyone else cutting in. My hotel is to the south of the main part and surrounded by hospitals for which mine host caters - for relatives mainly.  He is a very devout Muslim and when I arrived was in mid prayer so I was able to sit and observe my surroundings.  He used to import jewellery from China till the market bottomed out but with his profits bought the hotel.  After a lunch sitting in the street and served from a Sikh restaurant I went to the Kalighat Temple - the effigy is 800 years old and people were buying garlands of flowers, mostly hibiscus and double marigold blossom, and throwing it over the effigy.  I am not very good in temples and rather scooted through - my shoes had been left near the garland sellers and I managed a quick shot of them but no photography was allowed.  Then I went through the market and found the alley where idols and effigies are made out of strong grass,covered in mud, painted and used in festival processions.  Often they are immersed in rivers afterwards.  I saw my first hand pulled rickshaws and marvelled at the ancient buildings - you can join me on my  walk
Thank you so much for stars and lovely comments - am on someone's dongle tonight - no time to reply.  Has anyone else found that the star button is not working - I cannot see who has given stars since 11th February so I am so sorry not to thank.?



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.