Mongoose for Wild Wednesday

Calcutta


The park outside my hotel window is bare of grass and has a running track around the perimeter with 5 tiered concrete seating all around.  Last evening it was used for a barefoot football match until midnight after which it was succeeded by the meetings of various packs of dogs at different times of the night.  By 5.30am it was in full use as an exercise arena – men and women walking anticlockwise and some runners dodging past them.  By 7am the center was a cricket pitch for about 20 young men and at the far end a coach was setting out orange cones for a fitness class. Then larger groups of boys came with instructors but not a young girl in sight. This area sees very few tourists and yesterday whilst I was walking through the street near to the Kali temple I had the cap off my lens and was holding the camera in my hand.  Suddenly it was grabbed by a sari clad woman who was standing at the side who accused me of taking a photo of her.  I had quite a struggle to hold on – luckily the strap was round my neck – and a man stood by and helped as I tried to show the woman that there were only 3 pictures taken and none of her.  With my inadequate Hindi I mimed the fact I would have asked if I had wanted to take a picture but she still snarled at me.  So I told her she was very beautiful and left it at that.  I think she and two friends were probably pros looking for a lunchtime engagement. A full day today – first back to the Kalighat  Temple precincts by taxi tuktuk (you just wave one down and join the throng inside).  Found a mustard oil factory – not much health and safety there but the oil it produces is magical.  Then off to the Botanic Gardens where I was taken around in an electric cart for it is huge.  I managed to capture this mongoose behind the cactus house as it crept in and out of the drain.  Then off to the Victoria Memorial by bus – had to stand on the step for ¾ hour  as it was so full.  Then I found Sudder Street (where most of the travellers hang out) an enormous market there selling absolutely everything and more.  First I spent a couple of hours in their huge museum - brilliant old carvings particularly - had a couple of huge prawns for lunch and came home via the metro and a taxi tuktuk – now on my knees.  Have done some washing so am ready to leave on Friday.  I don;t think I can stand any more horns and chaos.  I will not be able to  blip for two days at least then as I’m off to the Sunderbans wildlife center and then by overnight train to Puri.  Come out for the walk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.