(Very) Tiny Tuesday...Blowfly Leg!

As you probably know I rather like experimenting. So I dug out the little child's microscope which I had for a present when I was about 8 or 9 (so it's VERY old), along with some specimen slides which came with it. After I'd cleaned as much of the dust out of it as I could, I set to work to see if I could take a photo through it. I reckoned that focussing shouldn't be a problem as when the microscope is properly adjusted the light rays coming from the eyepiece should be parallel, as if they're coming from infinity.

First I tried my "big" camera but that was a non-starter - I couldn't get the camera close enough to get more than a tiny chink of view. However my phone camera worked reasonably well, having a much shorter focal length lens! This is one of the results, which according to the label on the slide is part of a blowfly leg.

I suspect I might do a few more of these over the next few weeks as I've got several other specimen slides. Many of these were a gift some years ago from my best friend from schooldays when he had the job of clearing out his childhood home when his Mum could no longer live there on her own. In fact, deep in our capacious attic cupboard I've now found another microscope which he gave me at the same time. One day maybe I'll see if that works any better than mine.

Thanks again to wrperry for hosting TT this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.