The conversation ...

Gill and I have been married for ~33 years, and I still get 'the conversation' wrong more often than not ... 

Part 1: this is when one of us, innocently asks

 "Are we doing cards and/or gifts for ... e.g. Valentine's day ?"

and the other one says

"No - it just becomes a retail event,  let's go out the day/week/weekend after ... when restaurant staff have more time and no one need to feel they are competing with anyone for the most ridiculously expensive bunch of flowers"

So ... restaurant organised and with no need to go shopping, yesterday I set about removing the old tiles from the kitchen floor,  a bolster chisel and a lump hammer being well within my set of communication skills,  I took up far more of it than I expected, cleaned up afterwards and she was duly appreciative upon returning home. 

Part 2: this is where on e.g. Valentines day ... 

Gill says:  "I know we said we were not going to ... but I bought you this ... small gift of chocolates"  I think she's impressed with the state of the floor, but I can't even share them with her as they are not dairy free!!!

So today's blip is the rather nice red heart shaped tin the chocolates came in and the smallest (tiny Tuesday size) piece of tile I managed to remove yesterday,  one of the only two which came up complete.  The kitchen floor is going to need some TLC before we start on the new units!

Did anyone else manage to get bolster chisel or concrete into their Valentine's day blip ?  see romance is not dead yet :-)

Some days I think 'our tune' should be Communication Breakdown!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.