Happy Birthday Lola

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 16.0px Arial; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 16.0px Arial; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000; min-height: 18.0px} span.s1 {font-kerning: none}
Photo by Max Ellis.
I did some writing in the morning, Max picked Gulli up from his sleepover but none of the boys could hear the door as they were playing music and the Mum was out so I had to call them, the third boy answered and Max was able to get Gulliver!

Zebedee had a few hours gardening with a lady we met on the bus recently, he enjoyed it and she said it went really well and there will be more work for him over Easter.

I visited Mum in the afternoon after a long walk through the park, I was aware that since Gerry passed away she would not be getting any Valentines gifts so I bought her a bunch of red roses and some safari animal print chocolates. I also bought her a little box of chocolates she could give to Norman if she wanted to, she was really pleased and said that was thoughtful of me. I went to the craft room and found some pink card and made him a card from her. Norman is her only real friend there, he is 94, deaf and has no legs but totally with it and rides around in a motorised chair, he is a Quaker and very upbeat. He was so sweet about the gift and said he thought of her often and how nice it was that they'd been friends for over a year now, he said he was honoured and touched.

Mums swallowing is getting much worse and her ability to feed herself, she is meant to be having soup in the evenings now but she told me they've still been giving her sandwiches, the carer in the dining room said no one had told her so I went to find the nurse who said that everyone is told at the beginning of the shift and that Mums specific requirements were stuck on the wall in the dining room which they are, it's so frustrating.... I think I'll make a sign for her room. Also staff have been instructed to help with meal times if she needs it but I think I'm going to have that changed to feeding her because vague instructions based on people having common sense doesn't seem to work.

Lola came over for dinner, it was her Birthday on the 7th, Max made steak, sweet potatoes, salad and veg and we all sat round the table together, she went to Budapest for her Birthday with some friends and had lots to tell us about that. Zebedee made a delicious chocolate Birthday cake and we watched As Good As It Gets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.