The shed roof, before and after

Had planned to replace the felt on the shed roof today. Nice(ish) morning when we went for a walk but almost as soon as I clambered onto the roof ominous clouds appeared as if from nowhere and a light drizzle began to fall.

As I persevered so did the rain. The roof needed to be done as the aforementioned rain was getting in. The old felt came off easily although the battens securing the felt on the sides were rotten.

I began to wonder if the old felt was indeed rotten as the roof under the first couple of pieces was dry. The next was sodden.

After that it was a case of measuring, cutting, laying and nailing with adhesive on the overlaps. I was pleasantly surprised at how well it went and also how the rain eased off when it saw I wasn't going to stop work.

There was just time to begin cutting back a large red robin to make space for the greenhouse. The garden rubbish goes today.

After dinner Susan went to guitar while went to the local folk club. Not to play this time as the song I'm working on is a long way from polished. Well, the ukulele is ok but my singing leaves much to be desired.

Chris flew back to California today after a very brief visit (he only came over on Saturday) to see his grandparent. Went back business.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.