Day 12: Last Day In Palawan

A fabulous last day in Palawan, the most memorable experience being exploring the tiny, dark passageways of the indoor market. I felt quite the adventurer and once again headed out alone, renting the services of a tricycle driver to get me to my chosen destination. I walked by the sea, across a long stretch  of rough ground that will one day be part of the promenade and on into the boat yard, where young lads dived and tumbled from the jetty into the water for my entertainment, before heading for the busy main street, jam packed with tricycles and brightly colours vans. China town style lanterns swung overhead and the air was filled with dust. Then I spotted the market. I hesitated before venturing inside as there was absolutely no chance that I was blending in with the crowd. I needn't have hesitated - I was thrilled to be surrounded by so many lovely sights and smiling faces, who thanked me if I took their photograph. I think they were amused by the westerner with the big camera and fisheye lens.......

I could write reams about today but I have to get up in just over 6 hours at 4.30 am to catch my flight home and I've yet to pack!

Next blip will be posted from home......

Thank you all so much for following my Palawan adventure and for all that you leave in my journal! 


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.