Day 11: The Wedding

Today was the day of the wedding that brought me to the Philippines! And what a wonderful wedding it was!

For those who may not have read in my previous blips, the wedding was between a young man whom I've known since he was a small boy. A few years ago, he left England to live and work in the Philippines, where he met and fell in love with a Filipino girl......  Today they became husband and wife - I am so happy for them!

The wedding was beautiful and quite different from an English wedding. As well as bridesmaids, flower girls, page boys and ushers, there are also Ninongs and Ninangs (of which I was one!), who are like godparents to the couple. I felt honoured to be involved in such a way! 

During the ceremony, many people performed various roles - there was lighting of candles, symbolic draping of a veil and cord and lots of signing of documents to be done and words of wisdom imparted!

Afterwards, the reception was held at the hotel. A hot meal and speeches followed by the first dance by the bride and groom, during which time guests came to pin money on their clothing - a lovely idea!

I'm pretty tired now, and I've yet to post yesterday's blip, so no extras today.

Thank you so much for all the great comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's blip! I have now managed to upload yesterday's underwater extras for those of you who care to take a look.


Only one more day in the Philippines.......


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.