Day 10: A Beach (Almost) To Myself

Backblip from yesterday - today's blip is here!

This morning I went on my own mini adventure, as the friends I am here with were all either involved in wedding preparations or taking time to catch their breath. I went out the front of the hotel and flagged down one of the tricycles that are to be seen everywhere and are a inexpensive means of getting around. They are motorcycles with a side car, like the blue one in my second extra. I gave the driver the name of a local beach I'd been told about and off we went, rattling and bumping about along the somewhat rough road! It was quite an experience, I can tell you! Thankfully, it was only a 10-15 minute journey before we reach the beach, where I was careful to arrange to be pick up an hour later. What bliss! The beach was almost deserted, as it's not one generally known to tourists, and I spent a happy, boiling hot hour, paddling about in the shallow water with my camera. On the beach itself there were lots of tiny crabs that disappeared into holes in the sand, the moment I moved towards them. Thankfully I had my zoom lens and was able to capture what I think is a pretty detailed shot considering it was taken at maximum 300 mm zoom and then heavily cropped. I've added it as my first extra - check out its huge claw and shiny blue shell. I reckon this one measured just 3 cms. My driver turned up a good half hour later - I admit I was getting slightly nervous, as there was no other way of returning, and walking was not an option.......

The rest of the day was spent having lunch out at the local shopping mall, a quick bit of shopping and street photography and then a lounge by the pool - a most satisfying day!

Many thanks for everything, as always.....


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.