Agent Orange

Early this morning received an email from someone many will know. It was very touching and I wanted to have time to think about a reply. So it had to wait as I dashed out to do the horses and then the dog walk.

Was feeling pretty dreadful. not having had more than one or two hours sleep the last two nights. The antibiotics I had to take for the tooth problems had finally got to my system and were giving me hell but I knew there was no choice. Last night, I took the last one and hope that the effects will tail off quickly.

For the walk, all I wanted was peace and quiet and that would allow me to further think about the email. Opted for the "Schickling" route and at a time when few others about. However five minutes in to the walk came across a young couple with a pushchair containing a baby.and accompanied by a clearly older Labrador and a very lively terrier. When they saw us coming, they collected up the dogs and moved to the side. When I got closer, I said as far as I was concerned, they could let their dogs free but shouldn't be surprised if Luna tried to take away their terrier's frisbee. Then said that isn't a Welsh terrier but what is it "an Airedale, named Milo".

I gave a big grin and when they looked puzzled, I said I knew  a Milo who was in many respects similar but a Welsh terrier and also Milo's half brother (I think), Agent Orange - aka Murphy. Milo passed away on my daughter's birthday in 2013 and Agent Orange was chosen on my birthday a few month's later. Loads of strange connections.

Anyway instead of a quiet walk, we ended up doing the entire one hour walk together. Flash & Lab pleased to walk ahead alone and peacefully, while I chatted with Mum and partner threw sticks and the frisbee for Luna and Milo.

It was a strange walk, I was totally preoccupied with my own problems but also trying to juggle the conversation as they were not only a very charming pair but we had so much in common. So ended up not asking 99 questions I wanted to ask. I was also confused as it transpired she or better said her mother had horses in a nearby village and that I had met mother, a teenage girl and Milo some time ago on a walk. I asked if it was her sister - no that was my daughter!

Even if my mistake was at least "charming", I did try to get some credibility back to my tale of Milo & Murphy and why I wanted to Blip her dog, so grabbed the mobile knowing Murphy had featured on Blip the day before. The internet connection was slower than snail post but eventually Murphy appeared and he saved my reputation and day.

Just as mother had done, I was invited to pop in any time I was passing their place and naturally, again the reciprocal invitation issued. They had enjoyed the walk and had never done the entire circular walk before, tending to stop a third of the way, play some frisbee and walk back.

While I really enjoyed being with them all, it was a strain and I was glad to say goodbye at the car park. Would be nice to see them again and get to ask those questions . I don't think I even took one look inside the pushchair, don't know if it was a boy or girl or know any of the names - except Milo!

Afternoon collapsed, evening arose long enough to do the horses bedding and let them in for the night before again collapsing having managed a bowl of very watery hot broth. No chance of an email reply.

Actually fear I may have to cancel the doctor's appointment tomorrow.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.