Time Off

Feeling decidedly better after a long half day out and about.  Jacinta relieved me at the hospital late morning and I took the opportunity to visit the most extensive crocus plantings in Norwich.  Not in our garden!  Along Earlham Road - which leads to and from the hospital - there are millions of crocuses planted in the roadside verges.  See an extra pic for a tiny snippet.  But it is in Earlham Cemetary, just off the main road, that the most impressive displays can be found.  Great swathes of crocus tommasinianus carpet the ground in some areas.  The main pic gives a taste of this.  Snowdrops aplenty too and many bees a-pollinating both snowdrops and crocus alike.  Second extra pic for the proof!

At home I spent some time recording flowers in my own collection and filled the brown bin from the monster pile of trimmings at the end of the garden.  Tip: don't plant out rooted christmas trees - they can get very big!  A trip to the allotment on my bike provided exercise, sprouts, potatoes (from store in shed) and parsnips freshly dug.  After baked potato and sprouts for tea I delivered a monster sized spare parsnip to the in-laws who treated me to a ride on their newly installed stair lift!!

Feeling re-charged, I am now back on the ward until work tomorrow evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.