Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Marianna

My big accomplishment today was to resume my running after about two months' absence, due to holidays, festival shoots, and quasi psychosomatic issues with the bendy bits of my legs. I was pleased I managed my regular distance, but horrified that it took over ten minutes longer than my usual time. I knew I was taking it easy, but any slower and I would have been walking.

This shot was taken as she was enjoying the evening light. I saw the title on her book and we had a interesting chat on the meaning of happiness. She's from a sunnier country and said a warm climate is a big component of what makes her happy. Mine were the usual: money, power, fame, the crushing of my enemies, etc. I'm meant to email her with this portrait, so I hope to make a small contribution to her search for this state of mind.

I must have been messing about with the camera last night, because I had not noticed it was on ISO-1600. I keep telling myself that it's good to learn all these silly mistakes before any real assignments. But I do seem to find incredibly creative ways to introduce technical errors into my photography. So who knows what silly setting I'll be on tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.