Courtship

It was my last morning at Wakodahatchee Wetlands before heading north to Orlando.  There were even more Great White Egrets nesting in the trees than on my previous visit.  I found these two and watched and shot them for about an hour.  They were at the edge of a very crowded tree, and had a nice distant background. (be sure to have a look in large).  I watched as they mated, (I will spare you those shots), and then proceeded with preening, grooming and nest-building.  The male would fly off and come back with twigs which were greeted with great enthusiasm by the female (see extra).  It was a gorgeous morning and there was a lovely breeze which emphasized their beautiful breeding plumage. I had the chance to chat with other photographers, two of whom said this was the best place in Florida for shooting birds.  I know I certainly loved it and will go back again next year. I have noted its location on the blipfoto map.

We will be in Orlando for a few days while I attend a board of directors meeting for a professional organization that I belonged to in my pre-retirement life…a very sudden change of gears for me for a few days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.