Tsunami Sunset

Thailand 2017, Day 29
Off to search for dugongs again this morning - just the two of us plus the skipper. We had to pick the boat up from a different bay, which involved a motorbike and sidecar journey which was a bit scary (for me). No dugongs to be seen although we did spot a couple of sea eagles and an Italian guy in a kayak - which looked a very warm form of exercise at what was almost the hottest part of the day and he was wearing no hat or shirt (see extra). 
In the afternoon I wandered down to the creek on my own and was delighted to be able to watch Mr Kingfisher for a while. I even saw him dive into the water and come back up with a fish - see extras. While all this was going on, there was a large monitor lizard to my right - I didn't know which way to direct my camera at one point.  
Late afternoon we walked along the beach to the nearest village and we were absolutely shocked by the amount of Boxing Day 2004 tsunami damage that is still there. From the boats we had seen lots of stakes driven into the sand in front of the village and we thought it was to keep the monitor lizards out. As we approached along the beach we could see that the stakes were to stop children / people entering where the tsunami debris is. Massive lumps of concrete, pieces of walls and chunks of what must have been house floors. Absolutely incredible - it's over 12 years now, and they haven't been given the assistance to clear all this up, and still have to live with day to day reminders of lost loved ones and friends - possibly still below the debris. 
My main picture is the sunset as seen from the village with the debris in the foreground, and an extra is as seen from about 50 metres from there - you wouldn't know the tsunami had ever happened. 
There are signs all along the coast to let everyone know which way to run in case of tsunami or earthquake, and which direction the highest ground is, and how far away it is.
I was going to use the kingfisher as my main blip, but the village tsunami debris touched me so much that I decided that people should see it from a villager's perspective.
If you'd like to see me swimming with the fishes, click on here and look at the extra. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2279436003024309689
At RockArea's suggestion (below) I have now lightened up the front "rubble" area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.