On guard duty

Thailand 2017, Day 30
Libong is such an uncommercial and laid back place that no-one does anything like " a tour round the island" so today we had a tuk tuk and a young lady driver for several hours and asked her to take us to interesting places. It was fascinating as the island is really a "locals'" island and not a touristy place. We went to a stone bridge (rather like Durdle Door in Dorset) a lovely waterfall, a superb long beach where we were the only ones for miles, a rubber plantation, and a village where we ate like kings for about £2.50. (That is where I took my extra, as they also served banana fritters that locals stopped to buy or just pulled up on their scooters as these girls did.) I swam in my shorts and top at the beach as we hadn't taken our swimwear, and after my swim our guide took me to a fresh water well so that I could rinse off. I looked into the well - and it was very very deep. We had to get off the tuk tuk at one very steep hill, and walked for about half a mile to where she was waiting for us.
When we returned I went for a snorkel and spotted this little fish who was guarding a hole. In the hole was a large prawn who was doing the house work, and every 20 seconds or so the prawn would pop out with a load of sand or shells and deposit them outside. A very friendly relationship and fascinating to watch - which I did for about half an hour or so.
I have lightened the foreground a bit as per RockArea's suggestion on yesterday's Blip, and it does look a bit better if you'd like to have a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.