Street tree

We were in Glasgow for lunch with Cailean and walking back to the car, which was parked in Elie St just off Byres Road, I saw this.

My first memories - including going to my first school -  are from Elie in Fife where my parents lived for a couple of years before  we moved  to my father's home town of Troon.

I remember when I was growing up in Troon there were sycamore trees all along the street where we lived but at some time in the early 1960s they were all cut down in order to make the road  safer for cars apparently.    That happened in every street in the town and , I now know, across the country.  I don't know if it did increase vehicle safety, but I do know that it made the street much less interesting and friendly,  a view I recall I had even then. 

I hope street trees like this  never  go the same way because even in winter they provide a sight to lift the eyes and the spirits. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.