heartstART

By heartstART

Massive Attack

Nick and I went to Sydney in a massive truck for a massive day of work and covered 670km.

After nearly no sleep the night before, I could barely keep my eyes open and that was at 6am and the start of the 13 hour day. Sitting up high in the cabin was great. I was too tired to give the index finger salute to fellow truckers going the opposite way. Then again, I think that might be for the driver to do when he lifts his finger from the steering wheel.

The skies were brilliant blue, the sun steamed in through the big windows; I caught sight of lots of crows pecking at the roadkill. Around Lake George there was a dead kangaroo every few hundred metres on the side of the highway. The land is dry as straw at the moment. Bushfires are scattered around in the interior and 9 houses burnt down today in Queanbeyan. A minor was taken into custody for arson. The same thing happens every year.

We met the builders at the apartment. It was great to be in my place again even if it's someone else's home right now. It is such an open and well designed apartment.

Then we were off to unload all the furniture out of the storage unit and load it up into the truck.

I'd like to add here that $&@h that was back breaking hard work!!!!!

Just Nick and I, moving the bed, sofa, fridge, washing machine, bookshelf, massive cabinets +++ more.

Pulling, pushing, bending, carrying, lifting, tying down and stacking.
I wanted to lie down and say nooooo more or ask big manly men to appear like magic and help. That wasn't about to happen. We had another 7 hours to go. I made myself go into the zone.

On the bright side, a gorgeous man at the storage unit said to let him know if I wanted to improve my Spanish as he is a native speaker. He's from Brazil and speaks Portuguese too. I was dirty, sweaty, thirsty, in pain and decided to file this gem away for a future trip to Sydney. I want to improve my Spanish.

From the storage place we went to the wrong neighbourhood to drop the sofa off for Natasha. A programming issue with the GPS. Back on the road through Sydney peak hour traffic in a massive truck. Not joyful. Tension maximus boiling over inside the truck. An hour drive to get across 12km and we finally got to the right place just as it started to thunder and pour down.

Gave myself a mental surge to get in the zone again. No point caving in.
A long way yet until we get home.
And then there would be more once there.

Got soaking wet in the rain but managed to find a spot for the truck to back up into; dragged and lifted the sofa out. I walked backwards into a parked bicycle, ouch and up the stairs to Natasha's apartment, give her a hug and get on the road again.

300 km to Canberra next. Luckily we went through the back of Earlwood and Bexley and came out past the airport and M5 tunnel straight onto the highway.

My eyes were so heavy it was a mission to keep them open. But I kept talking fluff and crap to keep Nick awake and plying him with food from the massive hamper that Indu had packed for us.

Finally got back to Canberra at 8:30pm and backed up the massive truck to the garage and did it all again.

Lifting, dragging, pulling, shifting, bending, carrying and stacking.

Couldn't eat the delicious dinner Indu had prepared for us.

Had a shower, drank wine and fell into bed.

Hopefully my stuff will help Daniel start up his new home life.
To date I have spent $4500 on storing stuff that is worth less than that.

A massive task out of the way.
Feels good. Nick did a stellar job of driving the truck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.