heartstART

By heartstART

Memories

To be sentimental is considered somehow less appealing than having a rational, logical approach in life.

Why else the term 'sentimental fool'? As if sentiments are somehow the domain of those out of touch with what is real and important.

Real are the depth and range of feelings and sentiments we traverse through in our mind, heart, gut and even bones & having the courage to express them - they make us more human; vulnerable, despairing or brave, hopeful and in want of creating deeper connections.

If we didn't allow sentiments, memories and feelings to carry us away, there'd be less music, art, expressions of love, vision, innovation and creativity.

I have more than a suitcase of memories, possibly a shipping container. I live to make more on a daily basis. If ever I had to chose only one 'possession' to take with me out of a burning house, my wealth is a wooden box that houses my photo and letter collection and they are my my precious memories. I can make do without mostly everything else considered to be valuable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.