Remember the old saying

When gorse is out of blossom
Kissing's out of fashion!


Gorse, or course, flowers all year round. Cicely Mary Barker, of 'flower fairies' fame, incorporated the folklore into her gorse-fairy poem. I loved her pictures and verses - well, mainly the illustrations, when I was a child. I still like them a lot. I just looked her up on Wiki and discover her artistic talent wasn't confined to flower fairies - she designed a stained glass window for St. Edmund's Church, Pitlake, and a painting she did of the Christ Child was bought by Queen Mary.

Glad I got out and about in yesterday's sunshine; the weather's back to grey skies with the same (plus rain) forecast for the week ahead. At least the cloud was thin this morning, with the sun is trying hard to break through. As the afternoon goes on, it's thickening and looking increasingly as if it could rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.