Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

9-1-1

On my scoot to the grocery store I encountered this auto-pedestrian accident in the intersection at Hawthorne and Cesar Chavez, one of the busiest in the area. It looks like the man was hit in the crosswalk.

There were lots of cell phone cameras busy at the scene; even people driving by would hang their arm out the window, cell phone in hand, to snap a photo. Were they hoping for blood and gore?

And me? I was drawn to the colors and energy and drama of it all. I made sure to say metta for the injured man while I was exploiting his misfortune.

What do you think? Was it acceptable for me to photograph the event? Or was I being a vulture?

An aside: When I got across the intersection I realized the ambulance had blocked the curb cut and I couldn't get my scooter up on the sidewalk - I was kind of trapped and a little freaked that cross traffic was beginning to move. Two very kind men actually lifted the scooter up onto the sidewalk for me. Made my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.