Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

...in with the new

Laurie has already cooked a batch of lentil soup on our new stove – comfort food. She needs it, she was shell shocked when her beloved old (very old) stove was hauled off and replaced by this new one today.

I’m happy for the change; for a long time I haven’t felt the old stove was safe and have advocated for a new one. Last week when Laurie was out of town, the pilot light went out and wouldn’t re-light. I had to call the gas company out at 1:00 in the morning when I smelled gas. I told the repairman, “My partner will think I sabotaged it since I’ve complained about it for so long.” After a pause he said wryly, “Did you?”

I understand her angst. She’s not fond of change, especially if it interferes with her kitchen routine. She knew the old stove so well she could cook or bake with it blindfolded. It was sturdy – the children could slam the doors to the oven and the storage compartment, the surface over the pilot light was useful for warming things (I’ll miss that).

Mr. L helped her take off the WARNING!Explosion Hazard! sticker. I thought that sticker belonged on the old stove.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.