The Photographer with a Pug

Today's Mono Monday theme hosted by KangaZu is 'Love Your Pet'.  Well as some of you may know we used to have a Cavalier King Charles spaniel called Dylan who sadly passed away a little while ago.  Since then we have not kept a pet although we enjoy the company of dogs and I have mentioned Polly Muffin in the past. 

I know this is cheating a little bit, but I'm sure you'll excuse me on the grounds of non-existent material on the M4, M25 and M40' not to mention the highways of London, accessible in a moving car, as we drove back to Stratford (upon Avon that is, not East London).  Anyway I actually created this collage today, so that's alright, alright?

Yesterday I mentioned we went to William Hogarth's house.  One of the displays was a sculpture of his dog, Trump.  Hogarth liked pug dogs as he was pugnacious himself in his cutting satirical drawings.  There is a famous self-portrait of Hogarth in Tate Britain, 'The Painter and his Pug' painted in 1745, I've included an inset, I'm sure he won't mind. This was used as the basis for the statue of Trump on Chiswick High Road.

So getting back to the theme, I'm sure Hogarth loved his pet dog, and we would have been quite happy to take it for a walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.