MonoMonday: Love your Pet!

KangaZu has encouraged us to celebrate "Love your Pet" Day for this week's MonoMonday challenge.

We don't currently have a pet as our Goldfish Lazarus shuffled off this mortal coil last year, aged 24.

I told MrsC (my Editor) what the challenge was, and she immediately knew what was in my mind. "No!" she said. As you may know, "Pet" is a well used expression of love and endearment in the Geordie dialect, commonly used between spouses or from parents to their children (hence the old TV programme "Auf Wiedersehen Pet"). However in common with many "immigrants" to Geordieland she very much dislikes the term - I certainly get hard stares if I accidentally use it to her!

So as we're currently squatting in Mum-in-Law's house in Cheshire I had to look around for suitable alternatives there. These two canines seemed to fit the bill. We did used to have a family dog when I was growing up so I reckon that's OK (although she wasn't anything like these ones). At least soft-toy pets don't need much looking after!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.