The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Family reunion

I arrived in Siem Reap around 6am but of course the bus doesn't actually take you in to town, so you're forced to pay extra for a tuk tuk to take you the rest of the way. I told the driver my hotel but he didn't know it, so I directed him using Google Maps. I got out where I thought the hotel was but couldn't find it for about 20 minutes until I phoned them and one of the owners came out to find me.

My room wasn't ready but they had a smaller room for me to use for a shower and sleep, which was great of them. I went out for lunch at the market and then came back to my new room to wait for my parents to arrive.

They're visiting me for almost three weeks and I'm taking them on a mini tour of some of my favourite places in SE Asia. First stop: Angkor Wat!

Their flight was delayed so once they arrived we went straight out and had a beer on Pub Street before a delicious posh meal. It was so great to see them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.