1 Day Without Us...

... was a national day of action today to celebrate the contribution of migrants to the UK.

As it happened, in the morning I was working on a joint venture between a Scottish farmer and an Irish farmer who moved here a few years ago. He owns a farm here. He will have to sell up and leave the country when the UK leaves the EU - unless Scotland can save him from that or some deal is done by the EU & UK.

I was in my local pharmacy at lunchtime. The owner is Irish. Same story.

Some EU citizens living here are applying for permanent resident status (which is what you've always needed if you're not an EU citizen). It is being refused and they are being told to get ready to leave. 

I heard someone say on the radio at the weekend that the UK exports its pensioners and imports people to pay for them.

Anyway, I went to the 1 Day Without Us rally in Edinburgh this evening.

I treated myself to a falafel wrap in my favourite friendly Kurdish cafe, where they add £1 to the bill as a donation to their nominated charity. It provides school lunches in a camp for Syrian refugees (in Jordan, I think).

Got a Blip too. Edinburgh's Cockburn Street at dusk.

I know the (Turkish) owner of the cafe on the extreme left of the shot. Sadly, he was named and shamed in the press last week for paying someone less than the minimum wage.

Life goes on... will tomorrow be as varied?
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.