The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Snowdrops

In the woods above Beetham, there is a derelict cottage which is a little more tumbledown every year.  Below it there is the best display of snowdrops I know in the area, the only obvious garden ghosts of the former dwelling.  I always like to visit this time of year, and every year I try to get a photograph that I'm happy with, and every year I don't quite manage it.  So, instead of a show of snowdrops leading the eye to the old house, here is Gus with a snowdrop drift behind him.  In any event, I did promise Seascapes that there would be a photo of him soon.  

I was determined to walk there from Arnside, taking in the Fairy Steps en route.  It would be the longest walk I have done since well before Christmas, all of about three miles!  I arranged to meet Wifie for lunch in the Beetham Garden Centre.  I was glad I did, not just for the food, but the lift home, I honestly don't think I could have made it back on foot.  It was an interesting test to see what I could do, and confirmation that I can't do much beyond the walk over the Knott in the morning.  A test ahead of seeing Dr H on Monday to discuss next steps - more of that in Monday's blip when I find the opportunity to post it.

Anyway, Spring is round the corner.  These mild damp evenings the toads are on the move to their breeding ponds.  On Gus's evening walk to the wood, I rescued one that was about to be squished by a passing car, and helped him on his way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.