Memories

Today we drove to Dubbo and back home. We farewelled my Aunty Bo who had reached the impressive age of 92, still living at home until the last week. She is the last of that generation and was greatly loved. She never seemed to have a bad word for anyone and was very sensible. I remember after a visit with my four preschoolers I was concerned about the cake they had dropped. She said " don't worry, I thought I would vacuum up after you went home instead of before you came". She was horsey, and the only person I know who still has a sulky in the back garden. I was honoured to be asked to read a poem at the service. Caught up with heaps of siblings and cousins...

More memories...we drive home via Burrendong Dam, built in the 60s for water storage and flood mitigation on the Macquarie River. This is the tree which was where we liked to camp when the kids were young. We had various tents and campers and little sailing boats. There were no shops nearby and we could safely let the kids run around to their hearts content. We lived close by in those days so we often went bush each fortnight, nice and cheap and we all caught up on reading and doing very little.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.