Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Waking Up

I met this family of the native tribe of the Pataxós a few days ago. It's a family of a mother with six children (I don't know if they are all her's, as some seem to be the same age). The mother barely speaks Portuguese, so it was difficult to communicate with them and to ask them where there father was or what happened to him. They spend their days asking for money and sleep on the floor of the bus station in the center of our town. 
The relationship between our country's indigenous population and Brazilians is, to say the least, difficult. Brazilians know next to nothing about native culture(s). They only know that there are federal laws that offer massive protection and generous services to our native tribes. Many Brazilians feel treated unfairly, and one of the most common frases you hear on the streets is: "The government gives them everything, while our own are left destitute." 
Very few realize that law and the application of law are two different kind of shoes. My parents, while working in the Amazon, have seen many natives being killed by white farmers and gold diggers. Whenever the government needs their land to execute one of its projects, laws are changed and the tribes are thrown out of their (very often sacred) territories.  
It's a difficult subject and, as is the case so often, the conflict has its roots in ignorance. I will certainly write more about this in April/May, when my father and I will meet some members of the Kayapó-tribe up north. 

Yesterday I had the great joy and privilege of seeing one of the finest portraits I have ever seen - right here on blipfoto. When I woke up this morning the first thing I did was admire it once more: amandoAlentejo's "What a man". What a portrait! It's so full of details, yet hides so much. The camera is absolutely non-invasive, respecting the privacy of its subject. but at the same time it captures the warmth and intimacy of a friendship. Brilliant. Easiest heart I ever gave. 

MMC17 Day #21

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.