DancingAly

By DancingAly

The Cheese Stands Alone...

Yup, that'd be me..... ;-)

We had an Inset training day today. I hate them. This proved to be not as awful as the other ones we have- this time we were at the local theatre with loads of other local schools, and we had a guest speaker. He talked about Growth Mindset. I understood the concept, and the delivery was excellent. He was very funny, and quite a likeable person. His talk was peppered with anecdotes which I liked too. But as usual, whilst they all scribble furiously all over their little powerpoint slides of paper, and squeak about how wonderful it all is, you and I both know that the data hounding, pushing-for-better-results-at-any-cost culture will prevail. Nothing will change at all says the sceptic in me. Nice concept though. Really it is about undoing all the damage that THEY'VE created, but I'm not sure they're actually bright enough to realise that. 

To make matters worse, it turned out to be a beautiful day, 16 degrees in fact, and we spent most of it in a darkened auditorium. 

At lunch I took a walk as I was car-less, and found some headspace in a quiet spot. I actually walked past some new-builds going up, but I'd already seen them on right move, and they're not in my budget. I like looking at houses being built though. I found a brand new bench, all smooth with maple wood, with a little plaque. I sat there in the sunshine, made a couple of calls and enjoyed the sun. 

The little plaque was in memory of somebody named Tim, who going by the dates, lived a long life. It's like he's popping up everywhere. I don't know if it's a sign. Maybe it just means he's with me somehow. Maybe it's just my mind trying to make me feel comforted. 

But I always wonder what if. 

**I should also add that I was excluded from the clique, who fucked off to lunch in town without me. Nice! 


Excuse my language ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.