Beached

I did well to worry about the vagaries of the weather on our mini jaunt to Moray.
Today was bitterly cold with a biting west wind in our faces as we did our daily constitutional march along the beach. While His Lordship stood manfully and patiently behind the sea wall, I attempted to share with you via Blipfoto the boiling sea and pounding waves. This simple enough feat led to total disappointment. I managed to miss all the spectacular waves and even the sea appeared calmer in the first mages than it was.

In the afternoon with sunshine still in place, Daughter #1 drove us on a pilgrimage round our familiar haunts of Sandend (where we have enjoyed several holidays), Fordyce and Portsoy. There the full fury of the wind was leashed upon us as we stood above the harbour looking at a rainbow in the leaden sky at sea as a weather front blew in.

At the witching hour of 5 o'clock we had had enough and retired to the warmth of Cullen Bay hotel for a Scottish high tea, which for those not in the know is a plate of something cooked, followed by a tier of scones and little cakes with an accompanying pot of tea.
Yes indeed, I actually ate a scone and what is even worse, a tiny Viennese whirl into the bargain. I let the side down.

The fire is on now and roaring up the lum as I write. HL and I are ensconced in front of it enjoying the warmth, while giving Daughter#1 permission to continue working on gilding her antique picture frames in her oh so cold studio.

My blip was taken in Sandend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.