Shifting back .....

..... into the house this morning for the last time. Wow. What a journey. I've only been out for 4 days this time, and in that time the wooden bench in the kitchen has been restored properly, instead of the half arse oops half-pie unacceptable job that was done at first, and twice at that! It looks great now. The gas hob had to be removed, and the gas turned off, which is why I shifted up to my neighbours. Some other minor jobs have been done too.
This was the view from above my house this morning, as I walked back down the road.
It all feels so different today. I've remembered my son-in-law arriving from Arrowtown, 6 years ago today, to help make the house 'live-able', with sheets of plywood to cover the 7 windows that had smashed, and a collection of tools, water, a light, and expertise - he can fix anything! A girlfriend arrived with 80L of water, a generator (oh joy) and food. We were set! J. & I slept on the living room floor, and my son-in-law was braver; he slept upstairs. We were still having regular tremors, so J & I were happy to be nearer the front door in case we needed to evacuate.
It was actually quite fun, getting all the mess cleaned up, and doing it together. Just as well I didn't know it was going to take 6 years to finish.

All you clever people that guessed that my image 2 days ago was an orchid. I don't think I'd have guessed if it was yours! USAHIhi thought it was like a Georgia O'Keefe image - how intriguing was that!

I'm not doing very well with the MonoMonth challenge. This morning's sunrise looked kinda lifeless in B&W. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.