But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Broken Weir.

The sun came out this afternoon so I went down to the old weir to take that Blip I’ve been wanting for about the last week. In the five minutes it took me to get there, the sun had gone in and the sky clouded over.
 
I took a few pictures of the broken end of the structure, close inspection which makes me wonder how it managed to survive for over two hundred years before collapsing. As you can see, it is a wooden structure with a rubble infill and masonry capping stones. The downstream side, on the right, has a concrete cladding just out of sight, but the debris on the upstream side is merely silt and gravel dropped by the slack water.
 
I went a little further on to photograph the snowdrops, but they wouldn’t stay still for me. The wind that blew the sun away was trying to blow everything else away too.
 
However, the scarlet elf cups (see extra, Sarcoscypha coccinea) with their short stems were sufficiently near the ground that they were not moving anywhere. Their normal habitat is damp forest ground, growing on decaying wood and covered in leaf litter which makes this one of the few fungi that are easily identifiable. I was pondering how this specimen distributes its spores, but according to Wikipedia, the asci in which the spores are produced, explode with an audible puff. Mystery solved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.