But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Pentland Hills.

The strong wind caused our runs leader to curtail his run today to just over forty miles; although I arrived home tired, I felt strangely dis-satisfied for having such a short ride.
 
Straight after lunch, we went up Kingscavel, a notable local hill that used to be used for hill climb time trials (pedal-cycle – of course); our leader unkindly claimed he wanted to see what people had eaten for lunch – not very kind considering the state of some of my internal workings. In my role as back-marker, I rode up with one of our new-comers who was sufficiently sedate to leave that which should be inside undisturbed.
 
Just over the top of the hill, I stopped for this view of the clouds over the Pentland Hills to prove that it really was a nice day. From there, it was downhill all the way to Dechmont where I rejoined the group – most of whom use their brakes on the descents. It was quite exhilarating.
 
Now that BobsBlips is back from the antipodes, and back in control of Wide Angle Wednesday, the challenge is a little more relaxed (not that I have any complaints about Hobbs who was caretaker - he did an excellent job); that suits me as combining an organised cycle run with a demanding challenge is, well, rather demanding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.