HareBrain

By HareBrain

The Flower Fairy

Wasn't really expecting to get much out of the bank in the lunch hour today apart from a little cash for the weekend but in front of me in the queue was 'the flower fairy' displaying some pretty cool artwork on her back so I couldn't resist, could I.

Just as I was about to blip she picked up her cash (or finished paying a bill, or whatever) and removed herself from in front of me so I had to ask if I could take a photo and she was a very willing model and also told me that most of the artwork was in memory of her late Grandfather.

Perhaps he was a butterfly collector and a lover of Cicely Mary Barker's little 'Flower Fairy' books, the first of which she wrote in 1923 and which were published by Beatrix Potter's Publishers, Frederick Warne & Co .

I loved these little books when I was young but cannot recall a flower fairy with such large ears. Tatooist's licence, one presumes?

Wished I had asked the willing young model:

1. Who her hairdresser was, and

2. What those characters spelt out on her neck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.