Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A museum visit

I combined a visit to my cousin Clara with a stop at the Greenville High Country Museum where they had an exhibit of 24 Ansel Adams photos.   I could not take any photos in the room but I did take this one at the doorway.  

 The curator of this exhibit did a very poor job on the lighting.   Most of the photos had big white spotlight reflections on the glass.  It was hard to stand close to look at the photos as the lights glared out and just ruined the closeup detail looking.   

I was surprised to see one of my favorites..the "Moonrise at Hernandez" photo along with a few from Yosemite.  There were several black and white of aspen forests which I love..ideas for next fall when I go back to Colorado.  

The printing of these 24 slides on gelatin silver paper is just wonderful so the trip was well worth it..even with the bad lighting.

 Also at the same museum was a Dr. Seuss exhibit..paintings that were done by Theodore Giesel that later became book covers (or not).   Some of those in the extras..a couple you might recognize and some maybe not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.