SILLY SATURDAY

I have never participated in the Silly Saturday challenge before but as we were sitting in Jack's, our favourite café in Old Town, this morning, I looked out of the window to a recently opened shop opposite called "Oink Gallery".  When I Googled it, I see that it is described as "a new gallery and art space". 

It is quite a quirky place that we called into when it first opened but I have to say there isn't much in there that I would buy to put in my home. In fact, I would go so far as to say the canvas of my abstract photographs that I have on my wall at home is far better than some of the artwork in this particular shop. 

I left Mr. HCB in the café chatting to one friend and left with another friend to cross the road to look in the shop window. I don't think I would want a swinging monkey with a light in my home but I thought it fitted in well with the challenge hosted by Admirer.  The houses you can see are reflections in the window from the other side of the road.

I don't know how much this monkey costs - according to the following quote, it's a sculpture - but there were others holding lights, in various poses - however, if anyone is interested, I'm willing to go in and find out.  The ones on show are white, which looked rather boring, so I've titivated it a little to make it look more interesting but even in colour, I wouldn't want one, thank you very much!  

"It's not hard to understand 
     modern art. 
If it hangs on a wall
     it's a painting;
if you can walk around it,
     it's a sculpture."
Tom Stoppard

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.