Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lens Mount (An E.B.)

Many thanks for the response to yesterday's image from Weston Park.  I have been struggling to get out to capture photographs of late and it was really gratifying that when I did, I got touch a wonderful response.

  I'd been intending to auction a few items through a popular on-line site and this was a close up of the lens mount on one of the items.  In the end, after watching two rugby matches, cooking dinner and then sitting down to watch the TV, I found myself at 10:30 pm without another photograph.  Hence I used this shot from earlier in the day.

It did make me think about the wonder of technology.  That we can buy a camera body and mount a myriad of different lenses on it to capture images.  That this mount is the only means for the transfer of all of the information to help us focus and open/close the diaphragm for the aperture.  And that this all happens literally in the time it takes us to depress a button.  

We take a lot for granted these days.  I can remember my first 'proper' camera.  It had a needle display in the viewfinder to indicate good exposure (I hoped!).  Focus was manual, aperture setting was done on the lens (although the process of pushing the shutter still closed down the aperture you'd set).  There were no automatic exposure modes.  It makes you wonder how any good photographs were taken, but they were!  

Sometimes it's a good exercise to pare back on the use of all of the modern photographic aids.  To use manual exposure and focusing.  I am sure that doing this helps you develop as a photographer (excuse the pun).  We don't risk wasting money like in the old days of film, only a bit of digital storage space, which is soon recovered by reformatting the card.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.