Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

After Doris - Temple Pool, Weston Park

After the last few days, a glance at the weather forecast last night suggested the probability of a sunrise this morning.  A trip out to Weston Park was planned.  

As I was driving along the A5 to the park I was watching carefully through the rear view mirror at the developing light in the east.  Clouds tend to make the sunrise, although I wasn't quite expecting this display as I stood in the park.  I was surprised when a convoy of vehicles came down the drive as I was waiting.  I didn't ask what they were doing, but when I realised they wanted to park up in front of my position, I moved.

In hindsight, I'm glad I did as it meant I was standing on the edge of Temple Pool when this combination of cloud and light appeared.

Technical:  There was a significant dynamic range to the scene so I bracketed shots and used Nik HDR Efex Pro to combine images.  I had also used a 0.75 ND Medium Grad to reduce the sky's exposure.


I always question whether the scene presented represents what my eyes saw.  I believe it does, now that I have desaturated the image slightly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.