Red Gloves

Last week I left a pair of my favourite gloves on a train. Beautiful burgundy leather gloves with a ribbon trim on the cuff, a present from a friend and much loved. I will never be able to replace them.

I have purchased another pair that looked a plum colour online but in fact turned out to be red. I like them, but they're not my lost pair.

In the Victorian era ladies gloves were used as flirtation codes, here's some of the meanings:

* Twirling one's gloves around her fingers - we are being watched.
* Holding the tips of the gloves downward - I wish to be acquainted.
* Gently smoothing the gloves - I wish I were with you; I would like to talk with you.
* Holding one's gloves loosely in her right hand - be contented.
* Holding one's gloves loosely in her left hand - I am satisfied.
* Striking one's gloves over her hands - I am displeased.
* Tossing one's gloves up gently - I am engaged.
* Tapping one's chin with her gloves - I love another.
* Dropping one of her gloves - yes.
* Dropping both gloves - I love you.

A lovely evening tonight with Owlman1975 and an outing for my new gloves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.