Back to my Roots

A 17.5 hour working day that took me back to my PR roots in more ways than one. This morning I put the national newspaper motoring article 'to bed' (i.e. edited the copy to meet the word count, slotted in final quotes, checked my sources and filed it over to the commissioning editor).

Next task was to update my portfolio with my latest projects to send over to a couple of potential clients. Wish me luck!

The afternoon and evening was a whirlwind of activity as event support for Bournemouth's Tourism Awards working for my first-ever PR boss from my university placement year who back then was Sunseeker International's Marketing boss and today runs a successful PR & Events agency.

Over 500 people attended the black tie event which saw awards given to the businesses voted by the public as top for tourism, leisure and retail in the Bournemouth region.

Local dignitaries attended including the Mayor and Mayoress while entertainment came from a funky London covers band The Guilty Pleasures and a talented young jazz singer Leah who is daughter of Brinsley from Aswad. I met her when she was knee high to a grasshopper and now she is the most amazing singer.

After nine hours on our feet the photo booth provided light relief for my event comrade Liz and I! Hilarious.

Back at the PR office it was a final 1.5 hour's work to issue the event press release and images before clocking off at 1:30am. So guess what, it's now 3:30am and I'm WIDE AWAKE!! Tomorrow maybe a struggle....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.